Album Review – Kenny Mason’s Angelic Hoodrat: Supercut

Atlanta rapper Keny Mason released his sophomore album Angelic Hoodrat: Supercut on April 16th, a follow-up to the critically acclaimed debut Angelic Hoodrat. A continuation of his genre-bending work, Angelic Hoodrat: Supercut effortlessly blends rap, alt-rock, and grunge and features the likes of Denzel Curry (“A+”) and Freddie Gibbs (“Much Money”).

“43” opens the album with a sense of urgency and adrenaline. A melodic verse sets the table for an explosive chorus that harnesses the power of Mason’s raw vocals. This track offers an introduction to the grunge elements we hear later in the album on “Play Ball.” Featuring crashing cymbals and a jarring chorus, “Play Ball” refuses to remain within any genre confines and shows off the best of Mason’s singing, rapping, and production abilities.

There’s also a pretty cool CGI animated visualizer to go along with it, which you can watch here.


“Pup” follows immediately, maintaining a nod to grunge rock with fuzzy, distorted guitars that carry a rhythmic vocal line, rich with harmonies. The track blends and transforms as it progresses with what seems to be a sonic plot twist at every turn.

Tucked in with a mix of loud guitars, cutting verses, and frantic energy, we hear a softer side in “Titan (feat. Amber White).” Mason’s vocals rumble low amongst wailing guitars in what feels like a moment of reflection placed in the middle of the album.

Angelic Hoodrat: Supercut is frantic, grounding, commanding, and pleading all at once. Mason offers up an honest and dynamic delivery as he draws on varied musical influences. Refusing to put himself in the box of a genre, Mason has put together an album that’s truly one-of-a-kind.

Take a listen to the full album here.

Watch the visualizer for “Much Money (feat. Freddie Gibbs)” here.


Angelic Hoodrat: Supercut Tracklisting

1. 43 (prod by Julian Cruz)
2. Rih (prod by Skufl and Julian Cruz)
3. A+ (feat. Denzel Curry) (prod by Juberlee and Roark Bailey)
4. Fasho (prod by Kenny Mason and Skufl)
5. Much Money (feat. Freddie Gibbs) (prod by Skufl)
6. Play Ball (prod by Julian Cruz and Kenny Mason)
7. Pup (prod by Kenny Mason and Julian Cruz)
8. Titan (feat. Angel White) (prod by Julian Cruz and Skufl)
9. Breathe Again (feat. Ambar Lucid) (prod by Julian Cruz)
10. Partments (prod by Kenny Mason)
11. 4Ever (prod by Michael Uzowuru and Julian Cruz)
12. Storm (prod by Kenny Mason)

Cassandra Popescu

Cassandra Popescu

Contributor at ADDICTED
Cassandra is a writer and photographer based in Toronto, Ontario. In 2015, she picked up a camera and dove into concert photography. Since then, she has covered events like Festival d'été de Québec, Wayhome, Toronto Urban Roots Festival, Field Trip, Canadian Music Week, NXNE, and many more.
Cassandra Popescu